Yves Saint Laurent Volupté Tint-in-Oil (No. 1 and 5): A Review

 

 

I know I’m late on the train here, but my beloved brand came out with lip oils that are also marketed as lip glosses, and I felt compelled to review them especially since I just recently added another to keep my much-loved Cherry My Cherie (5) company, which is Drive Me Copper (1). For this review, I will be focusing on 01 Drive Me Copper, as the texture and consistency seems very similar to 05 Cherry My Chérie.

In the collection, there are a total of thirteen shades, but it seems as though they constantly add new shades without warning (I believe Red My Lips and Pink Me Now are new additions to the line). I thought it was fitting to review shades from the original release collection, but I am eyeing Red My Lips!

IMG_8559IMG_8562IMG_8569IMG_8565IMG_8563IMG_8568IMG_8567

 

As for the swatches, here they are:

IMG_8571
Drive Me Copper (1)
IMG_8572
Cherry My Cherie (5)

Packaging-wise, these lip products feel very luxurious; it has a bit of weight and feels nice in the hand. The YSL crest around the handle allows for good grip, and there is a lock that audibly clicks and this helps prevent the contents from leaking. So, I’d say the packaging is all-around secure and designed creatively while providing that class and elegance.

Upon opening Cherry My Cherie and Drive Me Copper, I was hit with their trademark berrylicious scent that is also present in their Volupte lipstick line. This was a very pleasant experience for me, but those sensitive to scent may find this undesirable. These lip glosses have a unique doe-foot applicator- the shape of these allow for precise application (via the sharp tip) but also make it easy to spread the product evenly with one swipe.

As for the lip oils themselves, they are very sheer. If you’re looking for opacity like the ones you’ll find from lipsticks and liquid lipsticks, you won’t be getting any from these- however, that makes it ideal for casual and a sheer wash of colour, which also fades into a light stain. That being said, these offer a certain versatility in the sense that they can be worn on any occasion. The texture of these lip glosses is different from other lip glosses in the sense that they are not sticky in any way, but they feel rather slippery. This brings about mixed feelings from a lot of people- some find that they like the oily feeling, and others feel like it’s too oily for their tastes. Personally, I like the feeling as it feels very moisturizing and luxurious, and I find that due to that texture, I use less of the product because a little goes a long way here.

The ingredients of these Volupte Tint-in-Oils are as follows:

Apricot Kernel Oil, Coriander Fruit Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, and Possiflora Edulis Seed Oil,
Polybutene, Diisostearyl Malate, Octyldodecanol, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Tridecyl Trimellitate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Pentylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocin-namate, Prunus Armeniaca Kernel Oil/Apricot Kernel Oil, Alumina, Passiflora Edulis Oil/Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Coriandrum Sativum Oil/Coriander Fruit Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis Oil/Jojoba Seed Oil, Magnesium Silicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Silica, Fragrance, [+/-May Contain: Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499/ Iron Oxides, Ci 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Ci 45410/Red 27, Ci 45410/Red 28 Lake, Ci 45380/Red 22 Lake, Ci 15985/Yellow 6 Lake, Ci 15850/Red 7, Ci 15850/ Red 6, Ci 19140/ Yellow 5 Lake, Carrot Oil/Beta-Carotene, Ci 15850/Red 7 Lake, Ci 42090/Blue 1 Lake, Ci 60725/Violet 2, Ci 75470/Carmine], (F.I.L. B166391/2).

So, these are paraben-free!

It’s worth noting that for $36CAD, you get 0.2 oz/ 6 mL of product, and although that sounds like a miniscule amount of product, let me emphasize this: a little really does go a long way! For me personally, I didn’t feel like I needed to dip the wand back in for a second swipe in one application, as one was more than enough.

Rating

Application: ★★★★★★★★☆☆ (8/10)

Value: ★★★★★★★☆☆ (8/10)

Durability/longevity: ★★★★★★☆☆☆☆ (6/10)

Pigmentation: ★★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆ (4/10)

Overall: ★★★★★★★★*☆☆ (8.5/10)

As for some final comments, I think these are great as on-the-go lip treatments with slight added wash of colour to the lips, but these definitely are not statement-makers as other lipsticks and liquid lipsticks tend to be. If you’re looking to moisturize lips that desperately need treatment and a little extra something under your lipstick, this could be what you’re looking for! I thoroughly enjoyed these, and as someone who enjoys wearing minimal/no makeup occasionally, this is a great option.

Leave a Reply

