NEST Fragrances Eau de Parfum Rollerball Trio: A Review

Disclaimer: Some photos in this blog post are from Sephora.com.

 

NEST trio rollerbals

Sephora Canada recently had this listing on their website, and as someone who was new to NEST Fragrances, I knew I had to get this!

This is available to Canadians for $25 CAD and each mini rollerball includes 4mL of eau de parfum, coming to a total of 12mL of product. This set contains three mini rollerballs of the line’s most popular scents: Midnight Fleur, Indigo, and Citrine.


Midnight Fleur

Midnight Fleur contains the following notes:

  • Top: Jasmine
  • Middle: Vanilla Orchid, woodsy notes
  • Base: Patchouli, Black Amber

Sniffing straight out of the bottle, I detect the vanilla and patchouli notes the most. To me, it smells a little muskier than your typical sweet fragrances, giving this scent a bit of a deeper and sensual twist. This is a very heady floral scent, so for those who are not fans of strong florals: this may not be for you!

On the skin, however, this transformed to a completely different scent. I detected the woodsy and amber notes much more strongly and the two notes’ prominence gave the perfume a masculine twist. With my body chemistry, it seems to play a lot darker, muskier, and masculine, which made me realize why most of NEST fragrances are marketed as unisex. The dry down smells less intense, but mellows out into a beautiful woodsy scent.

Keywords: unisex, woodsy, amber


Indigo

The notes in Indigo are:

  • Top: Bergamot, Fig
  • Middle: Tea, Cardamom
  • Base: Cashmere Wood

Indigo rather did the opposite of Midnight Fleur for me; straight out of the bottle it smelled exotic, sensual, and had hints of masculinity, but on the skin, it transformed into a feminine scent. In the bottle, notes of bergamot and tea were much stronger but on the skin, the notes of fig and tea bloomed, making a sweeter, feminine twist. In my opinion, the notes of tea and fig makes Indigo a mature scent (not easily wearable by young adults), and it is definitely a stronger fragrance- some people may find this a bit too cloying.

I myself found it hard to wear on a daily basis and found it extremely easy to go overboard with this rollerball-  one swipe on one wrist which is then dabbed onto the other wrist and consequently the neck, was good enough for me (maybe even too much). The dry down in this was unfortunately not as nice as I hoped; the level of sweetness remained to the point that it could possibly induce headaches to those sensitive to scents.

Keywords: syrupy, sweet (could be described as cloying to others), tea


Citrine

This scent was my favourite out of the trio, and my recent favourite discovery. The notes in this are:

  • Top: Lemon blossom
  • Middle: Lotus, Freesia
  • Base: Woodsy notes

This was a fresh scent that reminded me of spring and summer days, with its clear crisp notes of lemon and lotus. To me, this scent remained consistent in the bottle and on the skin. I would classify this as a fresh floral scent, not too heavy nor cloying. The dry down, on the other hand, is less crisp-fresh, but more creamy (almost like coconut and heavy cream). A very simple scent but not boring at all by any means. I was almost instantly able to tell that Citrine is versatile and wearable on numerous occasions as it’s not too heavy nor too strong. The only two downsides are that a) the lasting power is rather weak; I was able to smell it on my wrists for about 3-4 hours until it completely disappeared, and b) it’s easy to go overboard with the amount- one swipe on one wrist distributed to all pressure points was enough for me.


All in all, I liked this set as it enabled me to try out three scents from NEST Fragrances without committing to a full-sized bottle. Lucky for me, I have discovered Citrine, which I do plan on purchasing a full-sized rollerball for the summer. The size of these was perfect for testing out and properly trying out these perfumes repeatedly- I’ve been wearing all three for weeks now, and the amount of product in all of them is still not even past the halfway mark! This a great, affordable way to get a proper idea about what fragrances are like from NEST Fragrances, and even better for those new to perfumes altogether.

Rating

Value: ★★★★★★★★☆ (9/10)

Longevity: ★★★★★★★★☆☆ (8/10)

Packaging: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7/10)

Leave a Reply

