Sephora Collection Colorful Face Powder (Contour 24 Los Cabos): A Review

I recently made a post reviewing Sephora Collection’s Colorful Cheek Ink Gel in lieu of the recent Sephora Collection sale in Canada. The purpose of this haul was to see how great Sephora Collection products were, and whether I could score some products that worked and were the fraction of the cost of high-end beauty products available.

In this haul, I picked up pressed powder contour pan in 24 Los Cabos, thinking it would be a nice product to multi-purpose; I was planning on using this mainly to contour, but also as an eyeshadow and nose contour.

Processed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie Cam

First impressions-wise, I had mixed feelings. My skin tone is around light-medium with yellow undertones, but the product seemed to be a little too pale to be a contour shade. However, the two things I liked right off the bat were the large pan size and the gray tone of this product. I don’t like my contour to be so warm that it’s like a bronzer, and this seemed to be toned perfectly.

The product pan can be removed, and the eyeshadow single case has a magnetic base allowing the pan to stick in. It’s convenient that I have the option to take the pan out and put it in my Make Up For Ever magnetic palette or just take it with me as a single. The size was decently large and my contouring brush (I use BH Cosmetics’ 125 Tapered Contour brush) was able to comfortably pick up as much product as I wanted. Packaging-wise, this isn’t the most high-quality packaging ever created, but it is sturdy and solid. The hinge doesn’t look fragile and prone to breaking prematurely, nor the screen cracking. However, the plastic does look prone to scratching easily, which will probably cause your product looking older and years old if not handled with care.

When swatched with fingers on the inside of my wrist, the product did not really show up strongly against my skin tone which made me a bit doubtful. However, the magic really showed when I picked up some product on my brush and gently swiped it above the hollows of my cheekbones. This contour powder was perfectly toned- not too warm, nor too cool. This accentuated my cheekbones really naturally and did not go on patchy at all. The pigmentation is sheer but buildable, which is a desirable trait for contour powders and products. Even after seven hours of wear, the contour remains (albeit slightly faded) and it did not grow to fade down patchy.

The ingredients are as follows:

Talc, Mica, Magnesium Myristate, Boron Nitride, Phenyl Trimethicone, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Silica, CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), Ethylhexylglycerin, Sorbic Acid, Bht, CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 15850 (Red 7), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 15850 (Red 7 Lake), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet).

As you can see, this product contains talc and mica which aren’t necessarily harmful to the skin, but better ingredients and substitutes are known for these two. Furthermore, this product doesn’t contain parabens or sulfates, which I am happy about, as I find that beauty products with those ingredients dry out my skin.

For $11CAD (original price $19), there is 0.12 oz/ 3.5 g of product. This seems to be a great deal because this large pan will last me months even with daily use, making this worth the money for me. This especially applies, since all powder products tend to last a long time even with daily use. With this purchase, I believe I found the perfect contour shade and a much, much cheaper alternative to my Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow palette, which has been my holy grail bronzer/contour for a while.

Rating

Application: ★★★★★★★★★☆ (9/10)

Value: ★★★★★★★★★★ (10/10)

Durability/longevity: ★★★★★★★★☆☆ (8/10)

Packaging: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7/10)

Pigmentation: ★★★★★★☆☆☆☆ (6/10)

Leave a Reply

