Sephora Collection Colourful Cheek Ink Gel (03 Orchid): A Review

Sephora Canada was having sales on quite a few of the lines in their Sephora Collection brand, and I decided to pick up several items to test out and see if it’s worth the price. From this Sephora Collection sale haul, I also picked up a contour powder and a highlighter powder- feel free to check them out (contour review here, and highlighter review here)!

I’m a bit of a stranger to the Sephora Collection line and products, as I have not really bothered to look into Sephora Collection products before and only stuck to things I knew worked for me. However, I was also in the market for a blush, and wanted to try out a different formula from a cream blush, and this product, the Colorful cheek ink gel has a gel-like consistency- rather liquid and extremely light on the skin.

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

I got the shade 03 Orchid as I already had a coral orange and I wanted to try something pink. My first impression with this is that it actually contains a lot of product for a drugstore-priced item. I cracked open the product and broke open the seal at first and I squeezed some out onto my hand wanting to see how it was on the back of my hand. First off, the smell is amazing- very fragrant of floral sweetness but not to a cloying degree. The smell may be a bit too strong for those sensitive to smells and fragrances in their makeup. I found the smell wonderful but it did fade minutes after. The packaging is very nice- I prefer tubes and pumps as they are sanitary and allow me to dispense the product with ease without contaminating/compromising the rest of the product.

Here is how this cheek gel swatches:

Processed with Rookie Cam
Swatch: a dollop of product squeezed out onto my wrist
Processed with Rookie Cam
Swatch: the dollop swiped
Processed with Rookie Cam
Swatch: the product swipe blended out into the skin into a pink sheer gel pink

The consistency of the blush gel is extremely light and fluid; the gel consistency makes it feel like I am putting on lotion rather than makeup. It also surprisingly feels very moisturizing and my skin- the area where I swatched the blush- felt very smooth, hydrated, plump after application.

On my cheeks, it was the same experience. It felt like I was putting on a lotion, and the application process was pain-free. However, as a blush/cheek gel, it performed rather weakly. The pigmentation of this product was so sheer that it barely showed against my skin, and I had to keep patting on more thin layers over to have decent pigmentation on the apples of my cheeks. Some people might like this as it allows for more control over pigmentation and the intensity of the blush, but as someone who wants immediate payoff with one swipe and minimal amount of product, I did not quite like the sheerness.

Furthermore, as it is a gel, I found that it did not properly dry down to a matte or even a satin finish- it was very glowy, which I suppose isn’t too surprising, given that it does have moisturizing properties. It wasn’t a blush that I could wear on its own and that was rather disappointing, as I had expected it to dry down and almost stain my cheeks, giving it a natural satin-matte flush. I definitely would recommend going in with setting powder after applying the blush and let it bake so that it sets and stays put.

Ingredients-wise, this product isn’t so bad; it’s also not animal-tested and without parabens:

Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Styrene/Acrylamide Copolymer , Carbomer , Parfum (Fragrance), Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Aminomethyl Propanol, Polyurethane-58, Limonene, Benzoic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Tropolone , Hydroxycitronellal, Benzyl Salicylate, Linalool, Citronellol, Sodium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Hexylene Glycol, Hibiscus Sabdariffa Flower Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate. (+/-) : CI 15985 (Yellow 6), CI 16035 (Red 40), CI 17200 (Red 33), CI 19140 (Yellow 5), CI 42090 (Blue 1).

For $9CAD (original price being $18) for 0.67 oz/ 19 g of cheek gel, I think this is a nice beginner product for those discovering and setting foot into the world of blush. This could be a good and affordable dupe for Becca’s Beach Lip and Blush Tint in Lychee. For me personally though, this is a ‘meh’ product.

Rating

Application: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7/10)

Value: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7/10)

Durability/longevity: ★★★★★☆☆☆☆☆ (5/10)

Packaging: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7/10)

Pigmentation: ★★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆ (4/10)

 

Leave a Reply

