Bite Beauty Agave Lip Balm: A Review

Bite Beauty recently came out with an Agave line catering towards dry, cracked lips, promising to keep lips hydrated and kissable. I was able to pick up not only the lip balm but also the Agave Lip Mask, which I review in another post here! The only thing I did not pick up from the collection was the lip scrub, as I have several lip scrubs from LUSH that I want to use up first before buying more. If you’re interested in seeing a review of my LUSH lip scrubs, then comment down below or message me! That goes for anything LUSH as well.

Back to Bite Beauty’s Agave Lip Balm- I am a fan of lip balms. I cannot and will not be able to get enough of lip balms since my lips insist on being dry, cracked and peeling (thanks, Canadian winters). That being said, I was excited for this line when it came out in Sephora Canada and debated on whether to add to my already-large collection of lip balms and treatments. As you can see from this post, I just had to try it.

Here is how it looks like:

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

am a huge stickler for packaging and design. Bite Beauty has amazing minimalist design and packaging; the monochromatic theme and the smooth material of the balm casing just had my artsy side head over heels. Those who appreciate good packaging and design will be able to understand me when I say that the packaging was like flowers and I was the bee, drawn in and magnetized towards it.

These (the lip balm and the lip mask) were actually purchases spurred on by several of my favourite YouTubers mentioning it in their videos (Rachel Nguyen, Claire Marshall, etc.) They had gone on about how it was very moisturizing. However, my experience with this lip balm was very average, nothing stellar or outstanding. Very ‘meh’.

By ‘meh’, I mean that this lip balm was hard to the touch and was a little difficult to apply unless it was warmed up a bit. Even then, it was still so waxy on my lips that it felt like a thin-but-noticeable layer of Vaseline. Not even slippery like Vaseline is, as I definitely felt some friction there when I tried to rub my lips together to spread out the product. Additionally, it swatches sheer on the back of my hand, but when I went in on my lips, it left a slightly translucent white layer on the surface of my lips, and that’s not in an appealing way at all.

This lip balm is 99% natural (comprised of natural ingredients). I’m not a huge sucker or stickler for ingredients, as in I don’t actively seek out products with natural ingredients only or anything like that. This is what I would consider a bonus to a good product if it performs well for me. However, I do prefer my products not contain parabens, sulfates, and phthalates, of which this lip balm does not have! That being said, here are the ingredients of the lip balm:

Lanolin* (Pharma Grade), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter**, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil*, Glyceryl Rosinate*, Cera Alba (Beeswax)**, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil**, Stearyl Alcohol*, Hydrated Silica*, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Sterols*, Copernica Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax**, Heptyl Undecylenate*, Crambe Abyssinica Seed Oil*, Mica*, Kaolin*, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil Unsaponifiables*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Cera (Wax)*, Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil*, Flavor (Aroma), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Wax*, Glycerin**, Tocopherol*, Sorbitan Stearate*, Vanilla Tahitensis (Vanilla) Fruit Extract*, Agave Tequilana (Blue Agave) Nectar**, Vanilla Planifolia (Vanilla) Fruit Extract*, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil**, Acacia Decurrens Wax*, Polyglycerin-3*, Trans-Resveratrol*, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract**

I am seeing a lot of moisturizing ingredients in this lip balm, such as shea butter, beeswax,  castor oil, olive and jojoba oils, etc. yet I’m unsure as to why my lips do not feel moisturized at all. I’m almost kind of offended and very disappointed that this lip balm, which put me back $20CAD (for 0.15 oz/ 4.20 g of product) did so little to the point of almost nothing for me. Aquaphor and Rosebud Perfume Co.’s Rose Salve did way more for me in one night than this Agave lip balm ever did, and they are a fraction of the price!

Rating

Application: ★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ (3/10)

Value: ★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ (3/10)

Durability/longevity: ★★★★★☆☆☆☆☆ (5/10)

Pigmentation: ★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ (1/10)

Final Comments

I really did not like this product- I found drugstore lip balms worked much better for me, and this could just be the matter of preference! In my experience, I found this to be too waxy and thick to be moisturizing and properly penetrate my lips. It just settled into a thin layer of film over the surface, and I did not enjoy each experience. I do not recommend these and recommend you look elsewhere for better lip balms, unless you like thick, waxy lip balms.

 

Leave a Reply

