Bite Beauty Agave Lip Mask: A Review

As part of my recent Sephora haul, I also grabbed two of the Bite Beauty’s Agave line. The line features a lip scrub, balm, and a mask. I reviewed the lip balm in a separate post (review here) but today I’ll be focusing on the Bite Beauty Agave lip mask! I purchased the lip mask in the shade Champagne and it’s a sheer metallic orange-coral.

Here are pictures of the lip mask:

Processed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam
Shade Champagne
Processed with Rookie Cam
Shelf life of 24 months, and is gluten-free!

Processed with Rookie Cam
Canadia prideeeeeee

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam
Product dispensed

First off, as I mentioned before, Bite Beauty’s monochromatic packaging is beautiful. It appeals to the minimalist soul in me, and I was drawn to their products like a bee is to flowers.

However, my positive first impression of them was shattered almost immediately when I went to actually try to dispense the product. The key word here is “try“. It’s very, very difficult to squeeze the product out of this godforsaken tube. Firstly, the lip mask itself is so thick and not as smooth as other lip masks are, which attributes to the dispensing difficulty. Secondly, the tube itself is made out of a thicker plastic that is not easily malleable like other squeeze tubes are, which just makes it impossible for me to squeeze some product out of the hecking tube. I found it slightly easier to squeeze out some product when I warmed up the tube by rolling it between my hands for a minute or sticking it in the inside of my bra.

When I finally managed to succeed in getting some product out, I was awash with the sweet, syrupy scent of agave from the lip mask. It’s not too overpowering, and it actually tastes pretty decent. Though, I wouldn’t advise eating the product (even though it’s marketed as edible) as I wouldn’t advise it with any other cosmetic product. The performance, on the other hand, was not a positive experience.

Bite Beauty recommends wearing this at nighttime as it is essentially a thicker, heavy-duty lip balm. However, I found it impossible to apply; the lip mask is so thick that I found it hard to spread out all over my lips unless I warmed it up. Even when I was successful in spreading the lip mask out over the surface of my lips, it just sat on top of my lips. I tried on all attempts, to spread and distribute the product out evenly by rubbing my lips together. To paint a picture for you, this feels like a thicker version of Vaseline sitting atop your lips.

Ingredients-wise, I should be receiving a lot of moisturization, however, I did not feel any effects. They are as follows, and as always, without parabens, sulfates, and phthalates:

Trans-Resveratrol, Lanolin (Pharma Grade), Organic Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Organic Butyrospermum, Parkii (Shea) Butter, Glyceryl Rosinate, Organic Agave Tequilana (Blue Agave) Nectar, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil Unsaponifiables, Organic Cera Alba (Beeswax), Flavor, Vanillin, Siraitia Grosvernori (Monk Fruit), Vanilla Tahitensis (Vanilla) Fruit Extract, Organic Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Trans-resveratrol, Vitis Vinefera (Grape) Oil, Tocopherol Acetate, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, and Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, +/- May Contain: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Carmine (CI 75470).

As for the resveratrol element of the lip mask, resveratrol is meant to act as an antioxidant “equivalent to 15 glasses of red wine” as written on the Sephora website, but over the three weeks I’ve tested this product, I did not particularly feel any effect or change in my lips, whether they’re for the better or worse. For the price that it’s at, which is $30CAD for 15 grams of product, I would not recommend this at all. If you’re looking for an intensive lip repair product and/or a lip mask, I recommend checking out Laneige Lip Sleeping Mask, or Tony Moly’s Kiss Kiss Lovely Lip Patch. Those two will be a lot more intensive and thoroughly moisturize your lips, rather than this lip mask.

I love the brand Bite Beauty, and I have an affection for their Amuse Bouche lipsticks, but this lip mask just did not do it for me. It’s a personal thing, and this personally did not work for me. If this does work for you, then I’m jealous! I’ve been trying to make this work for me, but it simply does not.

Rating

Application: ★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ (2/10)

Value: ★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ (3/10)

Durability/longevity: ★★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆ (4/10)

Packaging: ★★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆ (4/10)

Pigmentation: ★★☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ (2/10)

Leave a Reply

