YSL Volupté Tint-in-Balm (No. 1 and 4): A Review

I am a huge huge fan of YSL anything. The packaging, the design, the products, the scents- everything just speaks to me and calls my name. I adore their Volupté Tint-in-Oil glosses and have amassed quite a collection of them, as well as their Volupté Sheer Candy lipsticks (04 Succulent Pomegranate is my favourite). My daily go-to perfume also happens to be Parisienne eau de parfum! As you can tell, I am quite a fan of the brand.

Thus, I got very excited when YSL hinted at the release of a new line, the Tint-in-Balm lipsticks, months earlier. Just about 5 days ago, they were officially released at Sephora Canada and I just had to get my hands on them to try out. I got two shades to try out: 1 Dream Me Nude, and 4 Desire Me Pink. I like to try both ends of the spectrum and see how both bright and neutral lipsticks perform.

Here is how they look like:

IMG_8423IMG_8424IMG_8420IMG_8421

Yves Saint Laurent never fails to amaze me with the quality of their products. Right away, these look identical to their Volupté Sheer Candy lipsticks, down to the silver bullet casing and the gold logo emblazoned around the center. They feel quality-heavy in the hands, and I liked that I was able to tell which lipstick was which shade without having to look at the bottom for the shade name/number, thanks to the coloured center indicating which shade the lipstick is in. They came packaged in their trademark gold packaging, and I was ecstatic to open them.

Upon unboxing each lipstick, I smelled the trademark YSL fruity scent (which is supposed to be mango) and it smelled beautiful. Wonderfully sweet, not too cloying nor overpowering, fades down a bit a couple minutes after application. So far, they were exactly like the Sheer Candy lipsticks I already owned.

 

“The outer shell delivers instant balm care with macadamia and apricot butters mixed with passion fruit, coriander and jojoba oils for a glowing sheer color that is vivid, yet transparent. The lip-shaped heart of the lipstick running from top to bottom, provides a lasting kiss of tint. Your lips, but better!”

These are how they swatch:

Performance-wise, these lipsticks deliver a sheer-but-buildable pigmentation, but there is a limit to that as well. These lipsticks can never build to the point of complete 100% opacity and that’s to be expected as these *are* marketed as tinted lip balms. Balm-wise, I don’t really see any particular special effect that these have on my lips as I do with other lip balms from the drugstore. However, one thing I did notice about these is that they do not perform well if applied on chapped, dry lips. The colour- particularly the core- seems to cling to the dry patches on my lips, and accentuated the dryness. Not exactly the most appealing look you can get from a lip balm. They feel moisturizing- not too slick nor too waxy or creamy. They dry down to a satin glossy finish, so these are definitely not transfer-proof.

One thing I did notice is that after a while, 4 Desire Me Pink did leave a slight stain on my lips and on my wrist when I swatched and left it on for a while. 1 Dream Me Nude was too sheer and neutral of a colour to really make a difference (just looked like my lips but better).

Ingredients-wise, they are your standard lipstick with the inclusion of several hydrating oils such as jojoba oil, macadamia oil, shea butters, apricot kerel oil, passiflora seed oil, coriander fruit oil, etc. as shown below. It should also be noted that there are no parabens nor sulfates:

DIISOSTEARYL MALATE . OCTYLDODECANOL . HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE . PHENYL TRIMETHICONE . POLYBUTENE . SYNTHETIC WAX . C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE . CETYL DIMETHICONE . DIISOPROPYL DIMER DILINOLEATE . POLYETHYLENE . PETROLATUM . PHYTOSTERYL MACADAMIATE . ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE . PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAETHYLHEXANOATE . EUPHORBIA CERIFERA CERA EXTRACT / CANDELILLA WAX EXTRACT . POLYGLYCERYL-2 ISOSTEARATE . OZOKERITE . PARAFFIN . CERA MICROCRISTALLINA / MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX . CANDELILLA CERA / CANDELILLA WAX . BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII BUTTER / SHEA BUTTER . PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAISOSTEARATE . HEXADECENE . VP/HEXADECENE COPOLYMER . CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE . ALUMINA . CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE . PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRA-DI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE . TOCOPHERYL ACETATE . SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE . CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE . PRUNUS ARMENIACA KERNEL OIL / APRICOT KERNEL OIL . SODIUM SACCHARIN . PASSIFLORA EDULIS SEED OIL . MAGNESIUM SILICATE . SILICA . MACADAMIA TERNIFOLIA SEED OIL . CORIANDRUM SATIVUM FRUIT OIL / CORIANDER FRUIT OIL . SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS OIL / JOJOBA SEED OIL . ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE . PUNICA GRANATUM EXTRACT . COLOPHONIUM / ROSIN . TIN OXIDE . TOCOPHEROL . CITRIC ACID . PARFUM / FRAGRANCE . [+/- MAY CONTAIN: CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE . CI 45410 / RED 28 LAKE . CI 45380 / RED 22 LAKE . CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES . CI 15850 / RED 7 . CI 15985 / YELLOW 6 LAKE . MICA . CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE . CI 45410 / RED 27 . CI 15850 / RED 7 LAKE . CI 77120 / BARIUM SULFATE . CI 42090 / BLUE 1 LAKE . CI 75470 / CARMINE] .

For $42CAD, you get 0.12 oz of product, and these Tint-in-Balms are just all too similar to the Sheer Candy lipsticks, which happen to be $40CAD. I say save the $2 and get the Sheer Candy to get the essentially same finish, appearance, and effect. A drugstore dupe that came to mind was the Maybelline Baby Lips; they provide the same amount of sheer pigmentation with a little more oil.

My final verdict is that these are very comfortable to wear and offer a sheer, beautiful wash to the lips (not longlasting though)- and beware if your lips are dry and peeling! These do not perform well with dry patches. All in all, I’m kind of disappointed with this release; they didn’t really perform stellar as in they did not blow my socks off. They also didn’t seem like a new concept- I was constantly reminded of the Sheer Candy lipsticks every time I played around with them and put them on. These Tint-in-Balms wear equally as comfortably as Sheer Candy lipsticks, and I’m not too sure these are really that different from the latter. Perhaps my opinion of them will change as I keep wearing them, but first-impressions-wise, these are disappointing.

Rating

Application: ★★★★★★★★☆☆ (8/10)

Value: ★★★★★☆☆☆☆☆ (5/10)

Durability/longevity: ★★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆ (4/10)

Pigmentation: ★★★★☆☆☆☆☆☆ (4/10)

Leave a Reply

