Planning Purchases: Sephora VIB Spring 2017 Sale

As many beauty and makeup addicts know, the spring Sephora sale is coming up really soon. The exact dates are still not released yet, but it is speculated to be the first week or the second week of April – which is coming up very shortly! As the Sephora sales tend to be very rare (only twice a year, the other time being around Christmas), I like to plan my bigger, pricier hauls around the sales. This is likely only going to be a 15% off sale, which isn’t too much, but hey, better to take advantage of sales than not!

I have a short but a quality list of products planned for purchase that I am hoping to grab up during this sale period. The products, as well as the accompanying reason(s) for why I am planning to purchase these and any other notes, are below:

  • Boscia’s White Charcoal Mattifying MakeUp Setting Spray (30 mL) – $18CAD
    • I’m new to this product and have never used this before
    • I’m running out of my Urban Decay All-Nighter Setting Spray and I want to try other products
    • I’ve heard good things about this spray (especially how this really does mattify)
  • Herbivore Orchid Youth Preserving Facial Oil– $66CAD
    • I’ve been on the lookout for some good facial oils for a while now (about a year?)
    • I have a college student budget, so the Sunday Riley Luna is out of the question ($131CAD…. sobs)
    • The reviews of this are very positive and some people mentioned that this did wonders for their combo-oily skin (but it’s good for all skin types), so I’m looking forward to that
    • However, this has been out of stock for several weeks now, and if this is not available, I’m planning to purchase the next item on the list as an alternative:
  • Herbivore Lapis Oil Balancing Facial Oil – $74CAD
    • I know, I know; the prices seem to be way too high to justify for a) a college student budget and b) for 1.7 oz of product but I am going to be getting a small discount off of this so it might be worth purchasing this now while I have a discount
    • This oil claims to be great for “hydration to combination and oily skin” and it also claims to remove redness and clarify the skin’s complexion
    • Reviews are all very positive and report that the claims are for the most part true
  • Sephora Collection Bright Future Gel Serum Concealer (03 Fondant)– $18CAD
    • I’m dangerously close to completely running out of my NARS Concealer and I don’t love the NARS concealer enough to repurchase and justify the price of it (it’s $37CAD…. nopenopenope)
    • Consequently, the shade Custard (of my NARS concealer) is too dark for me now as my skin got a couple shades lighter, so I’m looking for a lighter shade
    • Swatched this concealer on the back of my hand in-store, and the formula felt very lightweight
    • They were extremely pigmented, and I like that in a concealer as I look for something to cover up breakouts
    • Pretty decent reviews
    • Much cheaper alternative to other concealers offered at Sephora
  • Sephora Collection Colourful Face Powders Blush (13 Hot Flush) – $19CAD
    • I’ve been so into the look of bright, bold orange blushes
    • There are none as bright, bold, and pigmented that I’ve seen at my local drugstores
    • I’ve been lusting after NARS Blush Taj Mahal but found a decent dupe- albeit a bit more coppery-toned: the Sephora Collection Blush in 13 Hot Flush
    • I like the colour enough to try, and it’s also versatile to layer it on top of my contour for a warm, bronzed look
  • Sephora Collection Color Switch by Vera Mona Brush Cleaner (2 oz)– $18CAD
    • I find it a bit bothersome to wash my eyeshadow brushes after every use, and I love the brushes that I have (but I have about 5-6 eyeshadow brushes)
    • I do not plan on spending more money and purchasing more brushes to accommodate for each eyeshadow I dip into, so I figure this would be a good investment
    • This product is reusable, and easily cleaned with warm water and soap- two things I already have access to at home
    • I can see this being very handy and useful for switching between colours and in brush maintenance
  • Make Up For Ever Aqua XL Eye Pencil (M-60)– $25CAD
    • I received a deluxe-sized eye pencil from this line but in black, and I loved the experience; it glided on so smoothly, no roughness or abrasion, long-wearing- just all-around beautiful experience
    • Immediately became my holy grail eyeliner so I’m repurchasing this
    • However the black shade was too black for me, so I decided to get a matte dark brown shade
    • Swatched in store, glided on beautiful and stayed on throughout the day

Those are all I’m deciding to go for, and this list is a result of talking myself out of a hell of a lot of other products. The only reason why I kept the expensive facial oils in (from which I will only purchase one) is due to the fact that I believe skincare is something that is always a good investment, and I would choose to spend $50 on my skin and body care over makeup.

The total comes out to $172CAD* (*only the Lapis Oil was factored in, assuming the Orchid Youth is still out of stock).

With the VIB discount of 15% off, it would mean the rough price of the total order (before tax) will be $146.20CAD, making my savings just under $30, exactly $25.80. Not that big of savings, but better than nothing at all!

Additionally, I always make sure to purchase things online through Ebates, and assuming that it’s the standard rate of 4% cash back, then I would be receiving 4% of $146.20, which is $5.85, which would make the total value of my savings amount to $31.65. If I’m lucky and Ebates decides to double the cashback rate to 8% as it occasionally does, that would mean $11.70 cash back, making it a whopping $37.50 in savings total.

Not too shabby, not too shabby!

Tell me about your planned purchases, or any products on my list you’re curious about (or if you want a review of)! Leave me a comment and tell me all about what you’re going to buy, and why or why not!

Leave a Reply

